noobhouses.blogg.se

Value of remington rand 1911a1
Value of remington rand 1911a1










  1. #Value of remington rand 1911a1 serial number#
  2. #Value of remington rand 1911a1 serial#

#Value of remington rand 1911a1 serial#

Some have new fake serial numbers, so you should learn what genuine markings look like so you can spot a fake. Unfortunately there are many USGI 1911-types out there missing the US PROPERTY marking and/or serial number.

#Value of remington rand 1911a1 serial number#

Removal of the US PROPERTY marking destroys the collector value, and it is illegal to "possess or receive any firearm which has had the importer’s or manufacturer’s serial number removed, obliterated, or altered." () Many of those pistols were kept as souvenirs and apparently many owners thought removing the serial number and/or the UNITED STATES PROPERTY markings obscured their origins. The main thing to look for/avoid when looking at a USGI M1911 or M1911A1 is to make sure the serial number and/or the UNITED STATES PROPERTY marking have NOT been removed. These were a lot easier to hide than a rifle. I think this is why there may be quite a few originals out there. My father had a friend who snuck his home after the war. I don't know who made the innards, like others I switched out NG 1911 parts until I ended up with a shooter.Ĭollector value means little to me since I wont sell or trade any guns any more, I don't care what the value is, they are priceless to me.Īs I understand it many of these were "borrowed" by WW2 vets. My personal M1911a1 is a Colt with a USSC slide. I'm sure over the life of the Model 1911a1, besides depot rebuilds I'm not the only one who mixed parts.Ī USGI 1911a1 is a USGI 1911a1 regardless of who made what parts, as long as they are GI parts. I'm just one guy, but I was responsible for creating hundreds of mix master USGI 1911a1's. I got the guns from my state Pistol team to take all the 45s (before I issued any) and switch parts back and forth until they had the 10 most accurate "as issued" guns to save for the state team. So I ordered 4 1911a1s for each BN and separate company and an extra 10 to keep in the marksmanship unit to be issued to the winning unit we would send to the NG Championships. Regulations forbid shooters from taking Unit arms home or checking them out for practice. The Guard had a Combat Program where unit teams had to use issued weapons. Then many years later, I was running the Alaska NG Marksmanship Unit. Regardless of what frame the parts came from. etc etc.Īfter they were all cleaned we'd take a slide and walk down the line adding parts until the pistol was put back together. We set out an assembly line where we took all the guns apart and set the parts in different areas, so we could walk down the line cleaning each part or pile of parts, frame here, slide there, barrel over there. One day this other guy and me screwed up, so instead of getting the weekend off we got to clean all the schools 1911a1, hundreds of them. I believe a 1911a1 is a 1911a1 regardless of who make what parts as long as they are USGI parts. Like other surplus guns they go through re-builds and they use parts that are available. Mix Masters? I believe most USGI 1911a1's are mix masters.












Value of remington rand 1911a1